home   who I am  
play space
site map
  study guides  

Suzy McKee Charnas
The Vampire Tapestry
Vampire Dreams
The Ruby Tear
Stagestruck Vampires
Science Fiction Fantasy Series
  The Holdfast Books  
Sorcery Hall
Young Adult
Kevin Malone
Sorcery Hall
Dorothea Dreams
Music of the Night
My Father's Ghost
Strange Seas
Essays & Reviews
James Triptree
Play Space
free fiction
mystery gallery
Essays & Reviews


The work of writers working in the science fiction/fantasy/horror genres is commonly excluded from awards that go to “literary” or “mainstream” fiction. So genre readers and writers have created our own roster of awards for outstanding work within our ghetto. Just as the “mainstream” has older, higher-tier awards that everyone recognizes by name (the Booker Prize, the Newbery Medal), so too does our world have awards with instant name recognition (the Hugo, the Nebula). I’ve had the honor and pleasure of being nominated for, and in some cases given, several of these awards, and others, for my work.

The Hugo Awards are voted on by the attending and supporting members of a given year’s World Science Fiction Convention.

"Boobs" won the Hugo in 1990 for Best Short Story.
"Beauty and the Opera": shortlisted for the Hugo, Best Novelette, 1996.

The Nebula Awards are voted yearly to writers of speculative fiction by their peers through their professional association, Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA).

"Unicorn Tapestry" won a Nebula for Best Novella, 1980.
The Vampire Tapestry
: shortlisted for the Nebula, Best Novel, 1981.

The James Tiptree Jr. Literary Award is given yearly for fiction, by the Tiptree Motherboard, for books and stories that significantly explore and expand gender roles and issues.

Walk to the End of the World (1974) and its sequel Motherlines (1978) were together given the unique James Tiptree, Jr., Retrospective Award in 1994, in company with Ursula LeGuin’s The Left Hand of Darkness (1969) and Joanna Russ’s story “When it Changed” (1973). All of these were honored as works that would have won Tiptrees if there had been Tiptrees to award (the first Tiptree was given in 1991).

The Furies : shortlisted for the Tiptree, 1994.
"Beauty and the Opera": shortlisted for the Tiptree, 1996.

The Conqueror’s Child won the Tiptree Award for 2000.
Only the Tiptree comes in flavors; this particular edition, under the icing, was chocolate (a not uncommon choice).

Tiptree Award Cake

The World Fantasy Award is given at the yearly World Fantasy Convention, voted on by the membership, attending and supporting.

The Vampire Tapestry: shortlisted for Best Fantasy Novel, 1981.

The John W. Campbell Award is given yearly for Best First SF Novel published initially in paperback format.

Walk to the End of the World: shortlisted for the Campbell, 1974.

The Gaylactic Network, the premiere organization for gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) fans of science fiction, fantasy, and horror, yearly gives the Spectrum Awards to honor works in science fiction, fantasy, and horror that deal positively with gay characters, themes, and issues.

At the 2003 World Science Fiction Convention, in recognition of The Holdfast Chronicles (Walk to the End of the World, Motherlines, The Furies, The Conqueror's Child) I was inducted into the Gaylactic Spectrum Hall of Fame, along with Ursula K. LeGuin (forThe Left Hand of Darkness, Melissa Scott (for The Shadow Man, and Diane Duane (for The Tale of the Five) .

The Aslan Awards are given yearly by the Mythopoeic Society.

The Kingdom of Kevin Malone won the Aslan Award for Best Children's Book of 1993.

The Gigamesh Award is a Spanish award given for fantasy.

"The Ancient Mind at Work" and "Unicorn Tapestry" won the Gigamesh Award as Best Fantasy Stories of 1990 (the year that The Vampire Tapestry, the novel containing both stories as chapters, was published in Spain).